Brunswick County ROD

Fees

North Carolina General Statute 161-10 (Effective October 1, 2011) sets the uniform fees for Registers of Deeds in North Carolina.

Notice

Effective October 1, 2016 the fee for recording Deeds of Trust or Mortgages will be $64 for the first 35 pages plus $4 for each additional page. The new law can be viewed here.

Important Fee Change Effective October 1, 2015

Payment Policy

We accept payments by cash, money order, or certified check (no personal checks). Mail to BCROD, P.O. Box 87, Bolivia, NC 28422. At this time we do not accept credit or debit cards.

Fee Schedule

Recording Fees

Instruments - Includes Assumed Names, Assignments, Contracts, Deeds, Powers of Attorney, etc... $26.00 for the first 15 pages, $4.00 for each additional page beyond 15 pages
Deeds of Trust and Mortgages $64.00 for the first 35 pages, $4.00 for each additional page beyond 35 pages
Satisfactions No fee
State excise tax on real estate conveyances: Paid by person selling property $2.00 per thousand ($1.00 up to $500.00)
Multiple instruments in one document $10.00 each additional instrument
Nonstandard document: Those not in compliance with N.C. Recording Standards. $25.00 in additional to all other applicable recording fees
Additional subsequent instrument index reference $10.00 each additional reference for assignments only
Maps (Plats): must be 18"x24" on Mylar $21.00 per sheet or page
D.O.T. right-of-way plans $21.00 for the first page, $5.00 for each additional page
Uniform Commercial Code: Effective July, 1, 2001 $38.00 one or two pages, $45.00 three to ten pages, $2.00 per additional page over ten

Copy Fees

Certified copy of an instrument$5.00 first page, $2.00 each additional page
Uncertified copy of an instrument in person 25¢ per page
Uncertified copy of an instrument by mail 75¢ first page, 25¢ each additional page
Certified copy of a map$5.00 each page
Uncertified copy of a map$2.00 each page

Vital Records

Marriage License$60.00
Marriage: certified copy for name change$10.00 each
Amendment of birth, death, or marriage$10.00 each
Delayed birth registration$10.00 each
Military discharge: recording and copies No charge but must be eligible person and present ID
Notary oath$10.00 each
Certified copy of a birth, death, or marriage $10.00 each - Must be eligible person and show government issued ID
VRAS birth copy - From another county, DOB after 1970, via NC Vital Records Automated System $24.00 each ($14.00 non-refundable search fee and $10.00 copy fee)
Uncertified copy of birth, death, or marriageIn person: 25¢ per page
By mail: 75¢ 1st page, 25¢ ea add'l page